On Two Deer, Personal Conflict and God’s Word

Driving home from church in the dark one evening I came upon 2 deer in the road. In the rural stretch of road I drive, this alone is not that unusual; in fact I was prepared for it. I was driving cautiously with my high beams on and attentively watching the road when I came over a rise and saw them. I came to a stop as 2 big bucks stood head to head pounding each other with their antlers. There heads were low and moving side to side as their bodies were each braced by their hind legs firmly planted on the pavement. They were so focused on their conflict (and impressing their lady friends that were surely hanging around somewhere) that I thought they must have been oblivious to everything else around them. It was magnificent! These two beautiful creatures with impressive racks seemed so engrossed in their battle (and perhaps tangled in each other’s antlers) that I hoped they didn’t notice me. However, as I scrambled to pull out my phone to capture the incredible moment they both stopped and stared directly into my headlights. I guess the lights and sounds of my vehicle were too much for them and they disengaged and both headed into the field on opposite sides of the road.

For the rest of my ride I was just overcome by a feeling of awe as I considered how cool (and rare – at least in my experience) that brief encounter was. As I continued to contemplate what I had seen, I began to sense a parallel to the reality of our everyday lives. Much like those two deer, we often find ourselves engaged in conflict of some kind. We feel trapped or entangled by some circumstance. Perhaps we experience conflict in a relationship. Whatever it is, we generally recognize that conflict is a part of life.

However, much like those 2 deer who disengaged their conflict because of my lights, often the solution to our conflict lies in the light. I don’t mean someone’s high beams or even actual light. I’m talking about the light of God’s Word. Many scriptures such as Psalm 119:105 refer to God’s Word as a light because it has the ability to illuminate our situation in a unique and special way – a divine way. We may feel trapped or overwhelmed by conflict, but if we take the time to look into God’s Word and apply it to our circumstance we might just find the conflict resolved as quickly as it began. I encourage you today to begin the important and rewarding practice of searching the scripture and applying it to the everyday situations you face throughout your life. It might not fix everything, but I can assure you it will begin the process of healing and peace that God desires for you.

 

Photo by Brian Stansberry – Own work, CC BY 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=30389408

Leave a Reply

