13 Reasons Why I Love Camp!

camp judson

I recently spent a long, hot, sweaty, dirty, exhausting week in the middle of nowhere in northwest PA – and I absolutely loved it! I was speaking at Camp Judson, a Christian Camp located on Lake Erie. While this was my first time speaking at this particular camp, I have been involved in camp ministry for most of my life in one form or another. This week gave me the opportunity to reflect on just why I love camp ministry so much. Here are 13 reasons why I love camp ministry and why you should, too.

  1. It’s fun! With non-stop activity from sunup to way past sundown, camp is an awesome place to go have some good, clean fun.
  2. It’s a place to meet new people. Most camps bring together people from a variety of churches and communities and you get to meet people you never would otherwise.
  3. It’s a haven. Life can be tough on today’s kids and camp can be a great place to get away from the struggles of everyday life.
  4. It’s easier to connect with God in nature. I suppose some would disagree with me, but this is my list. I find that being out in God’s creation enhances my worship and awareness of Him.judson fire
  5. It’s an intentional teaching environment. Camp ministry is about creating an atmosphere that enhances the spiritual journey of every student.
  6. It’s a level playing field. For many students, camp is a place to break free of stereotypes and backgrounds and just be a camper like everyone else.
  7. It’s character building. Students have to come together, get along, overcome difficulties and participate in team activities. This increases character development.
  8. It’s socially enriching. Camp is a tremendous opportunity to teach students major social and developmental skill in a short time.
  9. It’s electronics free! At least mostly. We still have some of the necessary technology, but the amount of electronics is drastically reduced. Students have no phones, video games, computers, etc. and it makes for a tremendous learning and growth environment.
  10. It’s an investment in our future. Students are the future of our society, businesses and churches and camp gives me an opportunity to shape that future.
  11. It’s an opportunity for growth. Despite the fact that I go to camp to minister to students, I always learn and grow in my own spiritual journey.
  12. It’s a way to serve God. Jesus said that whatever you do to the lest of these we are doing to and for him. As we volunteer some of our time and resources to serve kids, we are also serving Jesus in a special way.
  13. It’s rewarding. I don’t want to be selfish, but I do love camp because of how rewarding and fulfilling it is. You leave feeling like you made a difference.
Leave a Reply

