Just Like Dad

Recently, I did or said something (can’t remember what, exactly) that stopped me in my tracks. My wife looked at me as I started laughing and I said, “Oh man, I am so my Dad.” This happens more and more often lately as I find myself doing and saying things that I remember him doing or saying in similar situations.

Truthfully, this doesn’t bother me at all. I have been blessed with a dad who is a tremendous man of God, wise teacher, and incredible example of what it is to be a pastor, husband and father. I have learned so much from him, but in honor of Father’s Day I thought I’d share some of the more humorous bits of wisdom I’ve picked up from my Dad.

  • Dad taught me that there is no childhood injury that cannot be fixed by offering to amputate.
  • Dad taught me to acquire a taste for foods and drinks that my kids don’t like.
  • Dad taught me to not get angry, but to just drive faster.
  • Dad taught me that communists don’t like watermelon.
  • Dad taught me that anything I don’t want my kids to do just so happens to be pagan.
  • Dad taught me that if you can laugh at your own jokes, there’s no need for them to be funny.

More importantly than any of these, Dad taught me to love God and His Word, to make family a priority, to work hard and to live a life that is pleasing to the Lord. I am grateful today for a dad that cared enough to not only model these things, but to cultivate them in his children. To my dad, my brothers and to all you men out there sacrificing for your families, I say Happy Father’s Day!

Leave a Reply

