The Speed of Change

From across the gym, I watched with at least a little fatherly pride as my son bore down on the helpless soccer ball lying in the center of the gym. As he approached at almost full speed, I pictured him crushing that ball with all the might his little 8 year old legs could muster. And then he missed. Not a lot, but enough. Instead of connecting squarely, his little foot hit the top of the ball and things got ugly. Though it felt as if I was watching in slow motion, it happened too fast to react. I watched helplessly as he launched into the air and leveled out almost parallel with the gym floor. I began slowly moving toward him as his head hit the floor with an awful “crack”; and just that quickly the night we had planned was changed. A night of fun and games with church friends became a night of confusion and worry as we found ourselves headed to the ER to wait and see how badly he had injured himself. Though we eventually learned that he was fine and that there was no serious injury, the evening of waiting allowed plenty of time for thinking about just how quickly things can change.

Over the last several months, God has repeatedly shown me just how quickly things can change and just how uncomfortable I am with that fact. We have seen stability turn to uncertainty, friends turn to enemies, success turn to failure in the blink of an eye. Though we see it constantly, it remains unbelievable just how fast life can change. The problem is that the more things change – particularly unfavorably- the more we are forced to walk the walk of faith. I have always claimed to trust the Lord, but that’s easy to do when you have a job. I have always said that ministry was in God’s hands, but that’s easy to do when people aren’t attacking you and betraying you. I’ve always said that all glory belongs to the Lord, but that’s easy to do when there is some glory to distribute because things are going well. When it all falls apart you realize just how much we must totally rest in God. I must confess that I don’t have it all figured out, but I find great comfort in the fact that God’s people have wrestled with this issue long before I came along.

The psalmist writes, “My soul, wait in silence for God only, for my hope is from Him. He only is my rock and my salvation, my stronghold; I shall not be shaken. On God my salvation and my glory rest; the rock of my strength, my refuge is in God. Trust in Him at all times, O people (Psalm 62:5-8).” When life seems to change in the blink of an eye, with one swift kick that misses the mark, I am reminded that God is my Rock. He is all the stability I need and I need only to trust Him. Even as I write these words, I know from experience that it is not always easy. And I know I am not alone. Many who read these words are facing uncertainty as well. Loss, change and instability of one sort or another seem constant to us all. I challenge you to say with me and the psalmist, “He only is my Rock and I will trust in Him at all times.”

Leave a Reply

