Wait For It

Waiting – it seems like all I do sometimes. At the moment, it’s waiting for the arrival of our baby girl (though I suspect I am not as eager as my very pregnant wife). Just a few months ago, it was waiting for the ever elusive closing date on our house. It seems like there’s always something. You know what I’m talking about because you wait a lot, too. In fact, the average person spends about an hour a day waiting! Waiting for a meal; waiting in line; waiting at stoplights and in traffic; waiting for files and web pages to load; waiting at the doctor’s office, pharmacy, or bank. Just waiting.

Most of us don’t really enjoy waiting that much, but there isn’t much that we can do. Perhaps we complain. Probably we try to distract ourselves with any number of amusements – music, books, iPads, etc. Unfortunately, I’m afraid that we often do everything we can to endure waiting and we miss out on one potential benefit of waiting – an opportunity to draw closer to God.

That’s right. Waiting should have a spiritual benefit for each of us. In Psalm 39:7, in the midst of contemplating the fleeting nature of his life, David asks this pointed question: “And now, O Lord, for what do I wait? My hope is in you.” David was asking himself what he was really waiting for. What a wonderful question! What can I possibly be waiting for that can bring more satisfaction that God himself offers? Regardless of what I think I’m waiting for – a burger and fries or a baby – what I really need is God. All waiting can be waiting on Him. As you join me today in waiting, join me also in finding satisfaction in God alone. Let every line, every stoplight, every anxious moment be a reminder to seek him and wait because “blessed are all those who wait for Him (Isa 30:18).” 

Leave a Reply

